Index of Articles (see Full Archive)

Category: Well-Being

How can we be happier?

James Horton, Ph.D
2 min readDec 24, 2021

--

Image by Simon Migaj via Unsplash [used under Unsplash license]

Back in 2017 and 2018 I went through an episode of major depressive disorder. It was complex, caused in part by a generally depressed personality, in part by some severe health challenges (I had recently discovered that I was a Type II Diabetic), and in part by pain, isolation, and personal trauma.

I have no desire to elevate my pain to the point where it defines me. But most people I have met who suffer from severe mental health challenges find that the pain, even if it does not define them, is nonetheless definitive. It leaves its mark and becomes part of your story. In my case, I have found it gives me empathy for others who have been through similar situations. And also, as a result, I have spent a lot of time thinking about health and wellness.

This page serves as a respository for the stories that I have written which touch upon the question of well-being in some form or another. Some stories are explicitly about mental health. Others are about well-being in the broader sense.

Unlisted

--

--

James Horton, Ph.D

Social scientist, world traveler, freelancer. Alaskan, twice. Writes about psychology, well-being, science, tech, and climate change. Ghostwriter on the side.